Church Staff

Rev. Steve Bascom | Pastor

Rev. Stephen Bascom, Sr. grew up in a large family on a small farm in Nottingham, NH. Called to pastoral ministry from the age of 5, awakened to Christ as Savior, baptized in the Holy Spirit, Steve has served as a United Methodist pastor for 30 years in churches in Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts. He received a BA from the University of New Hampshire and dual-degrees, MDiv and MRE, from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in 1990. His wife, Jude, a talented artist, was an educator and director of theater throughout southern New Hampshire before retiring due to disability. They have three adult children: Stephen, Jr (wife, Melissa and son, Jonah), Elle and Gabe.

Carla Daigle | Church Administrative Assistant

Coming Soon!

Judith Kuhn | Organist

Judith Kuhn grew up in Lansing, Michigan and received her degrees from Central Michigan University and Wayne State University. She spent ten years teaching French, English and Choral Music in the suburbs of Detroit. In 1969 she moved to Rumford and taught choral and general music for the next 25 years. She has a daughter who lives in Gorham. Judy directed the RAAPA Chorus for 45 years while at the same time playing the organ and directing choirs in several churches in the River Valley Area, most recently at the Rumford UMC. "I am very excited to be part of the music program in a church which has so much music history and so many people involved."

Beth Labrie | Choir Director

Coming Soon!

William Buzza | Bell Choir Director

William "Bill" Buzza has directed the handbell program at the church since 1993. Bill first started ringing handbells in the youth handbell choir at the Grant Memorial U.M.C. in Presque Isle, Maine, and has been involved in the art of handbell ringing ever since. Bill earned his B.M. degree in Music Education from the University of Southern Maine in 1993 and his M.S. Ed degree in Educational Leadership from the University of New England in 2010. Bill teaches music at Edward Little High School in Auburn, Maine and has guest conducted at various honors music festivals and Maine handbell conferences.

Cherie Downing | Christian Education Director

Cherie lives in Poland, Maine and is married to Stan (Butch) Downing. She has been a member of UMCA for more than 15 years, has sung in the choir and has served on numerous Church committees. Cherie retired after 37 years of teaching at Minot Consolidated School, including 25 years in Grade 4 and the remaining years as the Language Arts Teacher for Grades 6, 7 and 8.

Sharon Flowers | Nursery Care Provider

Sharon Flowers retired 5 years ago from a job she held for 23 years and moved here to Maine to be closer to her son & his family. Mrs. Flowers says "Being asked to take care of children in the nursery has made me happy, given me many hours of laughter & love. It has made me feel like a part of another whole big, loving family.

Peter Poliquin | Church Custodian

Peter was born and raised in Lewiston. He graduated from Lewiston High School. He has two daughters which are both teachers. Jennifer teaches 6th grade at St. Dom's and Nicole teaches History at Leavitt Area High School. He also has a grandson named Charlie. Peter enjoys the outdoor activities such as fishing, boating and hunting. When he was younger he participated in amateur boxing. He has been working for the UMC for 15 years.

Members of the Leadership Team

Joel Irish | Layleader

Lucille Webber | Chair, Church Council

Bruce Hall | Recording Secretary, Scout Liaison
Church Council

Kay Little | Chair, Christian Education Committee

Pat Light | Missions Committee

Diane Higgins| Missions Committee

Janet Irish | Nurture Committee

Marcia Hennessey | Nurture Committee

Donna Manson | Chair, Outreach Committee

Wanda Sprague | Chair, Worship Committee

Paul Bisson | Trustees Representative

John Derouche | Chair, Staff Parish Relations Committee (SPRC)

Scott Kenison | Co-Chair, Music Committee

George Matthews | Co-Chair, Music Committee

Marcia Hennessey | Financial Secretary, Finance Representative

Kenneth Bard | Treasurer

Caroline Coffin | Member at Large, Church Council

Len Lednum | Technology/AV Live Service Support

Lucille Webber | President, United Methodist Women (UMW) Lay Member to the Annual Conference

Parish Nurse